Feel like a lemon?

IMG_1342.jpg
I don’t think this one feels like a lemon

The other day I went into my phone to show someone a photo only I couldn’t find it because it was hidden somewhere between several hundred pictures of food.

I’m one of those people who takes pictures of what I eat, what I’m about to eat and what I’m going cooking – before and after shots.

But, I quite like my food and so do some of my tasters. Take squidgy chocolate-cake-gate, Manchester circa 1995 when I had to confiscate a knife after the demand for the birthday cake was such that two people started to argue over portions – and one was holding the knife! After that I sliced cakes before leaving the house.

A couple of years ago, a recipe for a lemon loaf was posted onto my social media profile. It came with measures of cups and spoons. I had to do a bit of research to convert it but it worked. The resulting loaf was wolfed down without any chance for fights over portions because there was no evidence that a cake had ever existed.

Lemon loaf  – converted

210g self raising flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

200g sugar

30g of softened butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon  lemon extract

75ml lemon juice

112.50ml coconut oil

  • Combine the dry ingredients – flour baking soda, baking powder, salt
  • blend the eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, lemon extract and lemon juice
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well. Blend until smooth. I don’t recall folding anything.
  • Add the coconut oil and mix well.
  • Pour into a loaf tin.
  • Bake in a preheated oven at 180°.
  • When it’s done remove from the oven and the tin and leave it to cool on a baking rack.

Lemon icing:

240g + 1 tablespoon icing sugar

1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons of whole milk

1/2 teaspoon lemon extract

  • Mix together the icing ingredients and poor over the cooled cake.
Lemon loaf
Lemon loaf

 

Leave a Reply

