What’s on your mind?

img_1270
Channelling my inner Picasso and Satre

Up until the age of about 12 – before the teenage storm – I practised mindfulness. I had no idea that’s what it was. It was a game to me. I’d lie on my bed at night with my eyes squeezed shut and try to find the here and the now. When I found either one I’d say its name i.e. ‘here’ or ‘now’. You had to be quick because as soon as you’d found them, they were gone – the moment had passed. I found it easy. I had a great sense of pleasure in being able to place myself, my existence, in the universe – here and now and in that moment. Mindfulness.

I tried the here and now game the other day. It’s not so easy any more. My mind darted from one thing to another and I fell asleep.

After yoga, we have savasana – a great opportunity to let things go and relax. I  can do the relaxation to the extent that often after class people say: “Lynda, I could hear someone snoring – was that you?” It normally is. However, sometimes before I fall asleep I come up with a recipe: brandy chicken was one of them. I’ve now adapted the recipe and use ron miel (honey rum).

 

Lynda’s honey rum chicken

Ingredients:

6-7 chicken thighs or drumsticks (skinless)

1 large onion

2-3 sticks of celery

2-3 cloves of garlic

1 lemon

seasoning: salt, pepper, thyme

1-2 tablespoons of ground linseed

a glug* of ron miel (brandy will do)

Method:

  • Place the chicken pieces in a bowl and season with salt, pepper, lemon juice and thyme and leave to marinade.
  • Soften (and sweat) the garlic, onion and celery in a pan (adding salt will help with the sweating).
  • Brown the chicken pieces.
  • Transfer the chicken to the onion mixture.
  • Add a glug of brandy – turn up the heat – and flambé
  • De-glaze the pan used for  frying the chicken and add those juices to the pot of chicken.
  • Cover the pot of chicken and simmer on a low heat for 20-30 minutes.
  • Thicken with the ground linseed.

* glug – an onamatopoeic slug

When I make this dish again I’ll take a picture and add it to the blog. I always nag my students about having some kind of visual representation of what they’re talking about so I should practise what I preach. 

Leave a Reply

